This elusive baby!

We are not there yet…we have made progress but sometimes am not too sure about this…..baby thing…..am not sure whether to be excited or to cry….

Atleast am clear on where the baby comes from, and who gets the baby for us. In fact I have even designed a strategy to get us ahead of the queue but I am worried because I sense a lack of excitement for the baby from my mother….come think of it….even my sisters do not seem excited. 

I don’t think they want a baby!

Each of them except me have someone behind them….a baby of their own to take care of…no that may not be true…my immediate elder sister has no time for babies.

She is a super hero…..she can do everything all the boys in the village can do. So I don’t think she needs a baby to keep her busy. I wish I could be like her….but I have not yet figured how she does things…..how do you climb a tree…seriously! How do you get up…and go up a tall mango or orange tree and come down? 

I cannot but my sister can….so I rely on her totally for supply of fruits and for protection. She challenges me all the time….and so today is tree climbing 101 with love

so she literally pushes me up to the first branch of the orange tree….wow! The view from up here….I can see the top of the coffee bushes and maize shrubs…….I have never seen that before….I feel like a queen……and today for the very first time I can pick my own oranges and peel and eat! 

It tastes better from up here!

This is the definition of empowerment! I can do it….well yes I can ….but now I need to get down from here.

My benefactor …….loving sister jumps down effortlessly…..I am sure she has a way of getting me down from here. You see my sister always has all the answers…..

Jump!!! 

I look at her and am sure she has lost it…..

Jump she repeats…..

Am sure she is kidding so I smile and hold out my hands for her to get me down….

Jump or am leaving you on top of the trea…..

Okay now am terrified…..and this is no longer funny….the oranges I have eaten rise up my throat. Am sure I will throw up!

Please I beg …..please get me down…..you promised….

My sister turns and saunters through the thick maize plantations…..and I hear her whistling….yeah my sister can whistle……how does God apportion these special gifts….my sister seems to have a monopoly 

I clearly hear my sister going on towards home….she is now in the coffee farm…..and it is getting dark…..

You need to understand that a thick coffee farm…..okay not so thick but it looks dark and menacing …..I have seem dangerous things in that bush……chameleons, white hairy caterpillars (not black!) and a black lionette(miniature lion) climbing up a tree in that farm!…and thick maize foliage stands between me and safety that is home…….

Okay there is also the 4 or so feet between the ground and I!

I hang on to the branch for dear life….I peer up the orange tree…..and pray that no chameleon will come down the trunk…..I am sure my sister will be back for me….am so sure…….she always does…..I know she likes playing with me…

The branch is getting uncomfortable …….and I finally accept this reality….my sister is not coming back……am sure of that now….I need to get down…..it’s getting dark….and I still have to navigate the maize and coffee bushes….

Am alive….but bruised……i have tried the reverse of what my sister and I did going up…..I try climbing down hands first and legs behind…..so I have fallen hard…..and bruised my face….my lip is swollen and bloody where I have bitten it but….am alive….I think i am….

So no my sister is not interested in a baby….I am enough entertainment as it is….

Strike Sister one from baby strategy……

4 comments on “This elusive baby!

Leave a Reply

