I wish for you 

Do you dream in colour I wonder as I look at your narrowly defined reality….The pond that you innocently jump over and splash through is brown in colour and murky…..it’s far cry from the properly chlorinated pools that i have come to expect…….yet your laughter and glee is infectious…..I smile through the window of the air-conditioned cab myself shielded from the UV Ray’s by the expensive designer glasses…..I am told the sun is bad for me…..the Rays could be harmful so I lather myself with sun block and after sun lotions ……I think am okay…..am safe….nothing is safe now….not even dreams…
I see the brown dirt streaks on your face, hands and exposed tummy that UV Rays is the least of your worries…… Or is it not dirt I see….is it the sunscreen that your mother must have insisted you put on before you left the safety of the cool veranda that is home……the home that I see across the railway tracks of Kibera….that is home…
Do you dream in colour…..I wonder…….what do you dream about ….what’s is your aspiration in life….do you long for the sleek cars that swish past…..or do you long for the cool blue pools in the stead of the brown pools of water in which you so happily play?
Your dreams must be grand for you look content…..and I wish upon you the realisation of your grandest dreams…

Dream big…..I did….but my dreams were in the deepest green colour of the forest at home and the clearest of blue of the clear heavens above….and travel….yes I dreamt I would travel….this long winding dirt road….(there was no Tarmac road so I guess even in my dreams i never saw a Tarmac road.) ……so I dreamt of travelling….to destinations undefined….even in my grandest dreams I never knew where I ultimately wished to end up….I still seek the ends of the earth…..
Yeah and I dreamt of good food…..not champagne and caviar…..no…I dreamt of eating mandazi and cakes….every single day…..I dreamt of my dream house……not storied all ensuite affair but a simple stone farm houses much like the local headmasters house….my sister dreamt of a wooden cabin…..that was her grandest dream house 
Yes I had dreams……but I outgrew them….now as I look at you I wish upon you the grandest of dreams and may you surpass them beyond your wildest imagination…..I wish upon you sun lotions and sun blocks and impossibly blue pools and luxury cars

I wish upon you dreams in colours of the rainbow….

Leave a Reply

