seafood maestro

They hunt in packs
They do….the female species ….did I say hunt….i mean walk….same difference
That’s what’s going through mind….as I marvel at women who go walking and jogging together….
They run in unison… not breaking a step….and talk non stop….gesticulating…..i have looked around severally but I see no men or male species doing that at Jaffrey’s
I have always thought that exercise time is the most private time for one…..you know that time when you need your company and need to preserve your energies for the walk/run!

There is also the fact that you are sweaty…..unkempt and probably your mouth is half open as you gasp for air…really I am yet to see a composed runner / jogger.

This is one time I love my mind…. You know ….my wandering brain… I find such solace….and I live many moments as I walk… and I look down…and inwards….which is why today’s jog was hilarious
I swear at some point I laughed out loud….
But first I marveled at the arrogance of a well fed cat….there are these white brown and black cats…..
They laze about the track….you can almost step on them…. But today I marveled at their well fed tummies….as I looked at a fat rat that they killed at the edge and never ate it.
Really…. Which cat other than Garfield does that… and that’s only because Garfield likes Lasagna

Speaking of meat….i had to take a moment… to slow down as I remembered a story my girlfriend told me of dates gone sour…

So my friend is dating this guy…good looking and all….well travelled….well spoken…..

The guy from the little I heard about him…… (No I lied, I have heard a lot about him….everyday….) So when he asked my friend for the first date…. Well….that became a,project….what to wear…. How to sit….how and what to talk about….what to order…

My friend was in a panic….my God! This guy is a sea food fanatic….he has been to so many plush restaurants….he has said he will take me for sea food!

She is in a panic!
Not to worry I told her as I took her through seafood 101(i love sea food).
We agreed that mixed sea food was a safe bet and I took her in advance to my favourite: place to try it out.

So on the day of the date….my friend looking sharp….. Excitedly called me….

He is here…….i got here before him…..wow…he looks hot…..the suit… she gushed

.. I will now put my phone off…..no interruptions please…
I promised….to hold myself and not call for updates

Call me later and tell me how it went….
She agreed
So I was surprised to see a message from her an hour later….

I opened the message…..excited…..i could not wait for the update…

“He has just eaten the prawns… with the shells!”
He is trying to crunch them……he is smiling…. It’s as if he eats prawn shells everyday
I am too embarrassed to tell him he should have peeled them first…. She put a monkey face emoji….

I burst out laughing and quickly text back….
“The seafood maestro”….i wrote back cheekily
” I wonder what else he lied about .”…..
“I know” ! she texts back …..angry emoji…
I am rolling on the ground laughing…. My God will he swallow the shells?

I am waiting for finer details
In the meantime every time I imagine the sound of prawn shells being munched…. I double over in laughter…
Now you see why I can’t make a good walking mate….
I cannot be in a pack…..my overactive mind….

Leave a Reply

