grotesque

She struggles against the fog…the white blanketing fog that threatens to engulf her…she must not succumb to the fog…to do so could mean certain death..
She stumbles blindly past the yellow and black stripped barrier…she clutches her black handbag to her heart protectively as if to fend off the fog…… and the pain.

She limps along on the hard cabral drive way….towards another barrier….a grotesque dance…as she only wears one shoe on her right leg….the other shoe must have disappeared in the white fog she runs away from…
Her skimpy black sleeveless dress barely covers her long legs….
Her long black weave askew……hangs loosely on her head…..barely covering a livid bruise on her cheek …..she barely notices it…her wild eyes swollen glance fearfully from side to side…..

Tears slide slowly from her eyes…as she silently pleads
“Help me” to no one in particular. ….
Black congealed blood cover her exposed left hand……

I stare…..rooted to the spot…as the guards casually lift the barrier for her to pass through
I lower my window. …mouth open….incredulous…Surely they will help her….
The barrier goes up and she stumbles through. .. I quickly get out of the car…I approach her …..hesitant at first
Am torn…I will miss my meeting….and it’s important
As I reach her and she sees me through her barely open eyelid
She allows the fog to close in as she collapses in my hands…..

Leave a Reply

